The staff and the students of Fort Convent enjoy the unique honour of being associated with an institution, which is celebrating 155 years in the service of Education. The institution was opened in the Fort area on 6th November 1855 in Medows Street by the Sisters belonging to the Congregation of Jesus and Mary. It was the first in the long chain of Jesus and Mary Schools to be set up in Western India. The school got its name “Fort Convent” as it was the first Convent in Fort area.
In 1904, the school was shifted to a two storied building adjoining the ‘Holy Name Cathedral’ at Wodehouse Road. The two-storied building with its airy and spacious corridors was sought after by many parents. The majestic porch has served as both the entry and departure points. It has witnessed tearful little girls entering the portals, as well as, well groomed teenagers leaving with eyes brimming with tears. It was almost a second home for the students for twelve long years.
The school has witnessed several changes in the last 155 years. Over the years due to expansions, additions and alterations the building has grown in height and stature. It has been instrumental in shaping and moulding thousands of students in the glorious For “One Hundred and Fifty-Five Years” it has been a “Temple of Knowledge” illuminating the paths of all those who came into its fold. Over the years,even the name of the road has changed from Wodehouse Road to Nathalal Parekh Marg.